As previously reported BEF (Martyn Ware’s British Electric Foundation project) will release a third edition in their ‘Music of Quality & Distinction’ series on May 27th via the Wall of Sound label. In common with the previous two albums in the series ‘Dark’ is described as ‘a unique re-working of covers from stars who shine brightly, dimming the lights for personal takes on twisted torch songs’ and features an impressive line-up of vocalists including Andy who delivers a stunning performance of Kate Bush’s ‘Breathing’, as well as Kim Wilde, Scritti Politti’s Green Gartside, Sarah Jane Morris, Boy George and Heaven 17’s Glenn Gregory among many others.

‘Dark – Music of Quality & Distinction Vol 3’ is available to preorder now via the release’s dedicated microsite. The album is available to order as a special limited-edition 2-CD deluxe package (including a bonus CD of instrumental versions of all 16 tracks) signed by Martyn Ware, as well as standard single CD and digital editions.

BEF - Dark (2013)

Kim Wilde – Every Time I See You Go Wild (Stevie Wonder) / Green Gartside – Didn’t I Blow Your Mind This Time (The Delfonics) / Sarah Jane Morris – Don’t Wanna Know (John Martyn) / Kate Jackson – Picture This (Blondie) / Andy Bell – Breathing (Kate Bush) / Glenn Gregory – It Was A Very Good Year / Boy George – I Wanna Be Your Dog (Iggy Pop) / David J Roch – Same Love (Bill Withers) / Shingai Shoniwa – God Only Knows (The Beach Boys) / Boy George – Make Up (Lou Reed) / Polly Scattergood – The Look Of Love (Dusty Springfield) / Glenn Gregory – Party Fears Two (The Associates) / Billie Godfrey – Smalltown Boy (Bronski Beat) / Max Pokrovsky – The Day Before You Came (ABBA) / Kelly Barnes – Copilot To Pilot (Teena Marie)

Posted on